Visit to Armagh Public Library and adjoining No.5 Vicars’ Hill on Saturday 24th September, beginning at 10.00am.
Ballyhegan and Kilmore Community Heritage Association are beginning their new season of events with a visit to Armagh Public Library and adjoining No.5 Vicars’ Hill on Saturday 24th September, beginning at 10.00am.
Armagh Public Library is one of the oldest libraries in Ireland, having been established in 1771 by Archbishop Robinson. The visit, led by the Assistant Keeper, will provide an opportunity for visitors to handle the 18th and 19th century books with care and to view various documents relevant to the Kilmore and Ballyhegan area. The second part of the morning will focus on the nearby no. 5 Vicars’ Hill Registry, built to house the records of the Cathedral and Armagh Diocese. Recently restored this deceptively large building has a fascinating interior and retains many of its original features.
The visit will begin at the Armagh Public Library, beside St Patrick’s Church of Ireland Cathedral at 10.00am. Free parking is available in the immediate area including the Cathedral grounds.
Please note that there will be a cover charge of £4 per person for this event.
Ballyhegan and Kilmore Community Heritage Association